Teaching and Learning


From 2013, AusVELS has been implemented within Victorian schools. AusVELS uses an eleven level structure to reflect the design of the new Australian Curriculum whilst retaining Victorian priorities and approaches to teaching and learning. The general capabilities outlined in the Australian Curriculum, are addressed explicitly in the content of the learning areas. They play a significant role in realising the goals set out in the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians (MCEETYA 2008) that all young people in Australia should be supported to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.


The Australian Curriculum includes seven general capabilities:

• Literacy

• Numeracy

• Information and communication technology (ICT) capability

• Critical and creative thinking

• Personal and social capability

• Ethical behaviour

• Intercultural understanding.


The Australian Curriculum also addressed the cross curricula

priorities of:


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures  will allow all young Australians the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, their significance for Australia and the impact these have had, and continue to have, on our world.


Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia will allow all young Australians to develop a better understanding of the countries and cultures of the Asia region. Students will develop an appreciation of the economic, political and cultural interconnections that Australia has with the region.


Sustainability will allow all young Australians to develop an appreciation of the need for more sustainable patterns of living, and to build the capacities for thinking and acting that are necessary to create a more sustainable future.